Dan Abnett Biography, Age, Career, Books, Wife

Who is Dan Abnett ?

Detailed Dan Abnett Biography

What is Dan Abnett Age?

Who’re Dan Abnett Family Members?

Who’re Dan Abnett Children?

Who’s Dan Abnett Wife/ Husband?

What is Dan Abnett Net Worth 2020?

Dan Abnett Social Media Accounts

Facebook @
Instagram: @
Twitter: @

Dan Abnett Biography

Dan Abnett is a British comic book writer and novelist. Frequently, collaborating with fellow writer Andy Lanning. He is known for his work on books for both Marvel Comics. Besides, their UK imprint, Marvel UK. On it since the 1990s, and also 2000 AD.

Moreover, also contributing to DC Comics titles, and his Warhammer Fantasy and Warhammer 40,000 novels and graphic novels for Games Workshop’s Black Library now run to several dozen titles and have sold over two million copies. In 2009 he released his first original fiction novels through Angry Robot books.

Dan Abnett Age

Abnett was born October 12, 1965read English and matriculated at St Edmund Hall, Oxford in 1984,[4] and graduated from there in 1987.[5]

Dan Abnett Career

As one of the more prolific 2000 AD writers, Abnett was responsible for the creation of one of the comic’s better known, and longest-running, strips of the last decade, Sinister Dexter. Other original stories include Black Light, Badlands, Atavar, Downlode Tales, Sancho Panzer, Roadkill, Wardog based on the game of the same name, Kingdom and Brink[6]. Abnett has also contributed to some of the comic’s major ongoing series, including Judge Dredd, Durham Red and Rogue Trooper.

His work for Marvel includes runs on Death’s Head 2, Battletide, Knights of Pendragon (all of which he co-created), The Punisher, War Machine, Annihilation: Nova and various X-Men titles, as well as several stories for the Doctor Who Magazine comic strip.

At DC he is probably best known for his 2000 relaunch of Legion of Super-Heroes as the limited series Legion Lost and then the ongoing series The Legion.[7][8][9][10][11] His work for DC is usually co-written with Andy Lanning and they are often referred to as DnA. The two co-created the Resurrection Man character with artist Jackson Guice in 1997.[12]

For Dark Horse Comics he co-wrote Planet of the Apes: Blood Lines with Ian Edginton, as well a penning Lords of Misrule and HyperSonic.

Dan Abnett

Dan Abnett

Abnett’s First & Only was one of the first novels published by Games Workshop’s Black Library.[13] His other novels set in Games Workshop’s Military science fiction-themed Warhammer 40,000 universe include the Gaunt’s Ghosts series, the Eisenhorn and Ravenor trilogies, and more recently, as part of the Horus Heresy series, the SF best-sellers Horus Rising, Legion, Prospero Burns and Know No Fear.

He has also authored four comic strip series, later collected as graphic novels, for Games Workshop’s Black Library imprint: Damnation Crusade, Lone Wolves, Inquisitor Ascendant and Titan.

Having written two Doctor Who audio dramas – The Harvest and Nocturne – for Big Finish’s series, as well as Torchwood: Everyone Says Hello for BBC Audio, Dan was also the author of two novels based on the BBC’s revived science-fiction series: The Story of Martha and Torchwood: Border Princes.

In 1994, he wrote a promotional comic to promote the opening of the Nemesis roller coaster at Alton Towers.
At 2000 AD he finished the final book of The V.C.s and started Black Atlantic in the Judge Dredd Megazine, which was drawn by Steve Roberts (seen working on Bec & Kawl) in black and white.

In 2008 Abnett and Lanning took over The Authority as part of the World’s End relaunch of the core Wildstorm titles.

In addition, Abnett has done a lot of work on Marvel’s “cosmic” characters. They expanded on their work in Annihilation: Nova[16] and Nova,[17][18] and piloted the next big event Annihilation: Conquest.

They said “we were approached by Andy Schmidt, who edited the first ‘Annihilation’ event, and asked to pilot the next event, which Bill Rosemann is editing.” They ended up writing the Prologue, the Nova series crossover and the main Annihilation: Conquest limited series.[19] The characters then became the core of a new Guardians of the Galaxy.[20]

Dan Abnett

In June 2008, Abnett and Lanning signed an exclusive deal with Marvel, which they hoped would give them time to work on the “cosmic” characters they have been dealing with, as well as more earth-based ones.

The contract allowed them to finish existing commitments, so they will be able to finish their fifteen issue run on The Authority.[21] In addition Marvel has allowed the contract to include “a couple of exceptions that are not direct competition, for example, Dan’s 2000AD work in the UK and his Games Workshop novels.”[22]

The first major work to emerge after this deal will be War of Kings, a crossover storyline, emerging from Secret Invasion, that pitches Black Bolt (and the Inhumans) against Gabriel Summers (and the Shi’ar Empire) but also draws in other teams and characters, including Nova, the Guardians of the Galaxy and the Starjammers.[23][24]

This then led straight into “Realm of Kings” which deals with how the different groups deal with the fallout from the events in War of Kings[25][26][27] and this, in turn, was followed by The Thanos Imperative.[28][29][30][31][32] DnA have also written an Iron Man/Thor limited series.[33]

Dan Abnett

He and Lanning have also written Fusion, a crossover series between Marvel and Top Cow.[34]

He also started Insurrection, a series in Judge Dredd Megazine that aimed “to bring to the Dredd Universe something of the epic war-in-space scale of the stuff I write for Warhammer 40K.”[35]

Abnett wrote the screenplay for Games Workshop and Codex Pictures’s CGI film Ultramarines[36] released in 2010.[37]

2010s work
Abnett concluded Insurrection and began a new series in the same milieu, Lawless, also in the Judge Dredd Magazine. Meanwhile, in 2000AD he has continued Kingdom, contributed Grey Area and began another new series, Brink. He also began writing both the Aquaman and Titans titles for the DC Rebirth branding, including the crossover storyline “The Lazarus Contract”, which he coauthored with Christopher Priest and Benjamin Percy.

Dan Abnett Fiction

On 19 March 2009, HarperCollins’ science fiction, fantasy and horror imprint, Angry Robot, announced the acquisition of three original fiction titles by Abnett. The press release from Angry Robot announced:

“ The three novels for Angry Robot will allow Abnett to play to all his strengths as a writer. His penchant for wildly imaginative world-building and lovable characters comes to the fore in Triumff: Her Majesty’s Hero, a ribald, swashbuckling alternate history set in a warped version of our present day … only with Elizabeth the XXX on the throne, ushering a new Elizabethan age of wonder and exploration.

This will be published, in both the UK and US, in October 2009.
Next year will see two novels set in the same stunning future-war setting. Embedded sends a journalist into the frontline of a distant planetary war… chipped inside the head of a combat veteran. When the soldier is killed, the journo must use all his resourcefulness to get safely home again, reporting on a live feed all the way.

Dan Abnett Twitter

Dan Abnett Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Lizzie Pannill Fletcher Biography, Age, Net worth, Attorney, U.S. House of Representatives, Education
Next post Art Edwards (reporter) Biography, Age, Wife, KGW, Salary, Twitter
error: Content is protected !!