Lil B Biography, Career, Controversies, Age, and Music

Lil B Biography

Lil B, born Brandon Christopher McCartney, is an American rapper, motivational speaker, and activist. He has recorded both solo and with the hip hop group, The Pack. His works span over the genres of hip hop, new age, indie rock, and choral music. He is noted to use social media to build an online cult following.

Over the years, he has released a variety of albums and mixtapes including his most recent album “Options” in 2018.

Lil B Age

He was born on the  17th of August 1989 in Berkeley, California, United States. As of 2018, he is 31 years old.

Lil B Career

He began rapping at age 16 with the hip hop group “The Pack” in the San Francisco Bay Area.  The group released two successful mixtapes, they then released “Vans” which was ranked at fifth best of 2006 by Rolling Stone. This led to them releasing the EP Skateboards 2 Scrapers and eventually their debut album Based Boys. In the 24th of September 2009, Lil B released his first digital album “I’m Thraxx” on independent label Permanent Marks. In December, the same year, he released his second digital album “6 Kiss”.

His debut mixtape “Dior Paint’ was released on the 25th of March 2010. In May, the same year, he released the mixtape entitled “Base World Part 1”. By July 2010, he had already recorded over 1500 tracks. His first studio album was Rain In England, released on the 21st of September 2010. In the album, he ponders love, beauty and all the bad things in the world over naïf new-age synth washes. On July 10, 2011, he released the EP “Paint” through his label BasedWorld Records.

Angels Exodus”, his fourth digital album, was released on the 18th of January, 2011. In April 2011, he revealed that his next album would be titled “I’m Gay”. The album was released on the 29th of June that same year with the title “I’m Gay (I’m Happy) and ranked at #56 in the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and #20 on the Heatseekers Albums chart. On December 24, 2013, he released the mixtape 05 Fuck Em, which contained 101 songs. On October 14, 2014, he released the Ultimate Bitch mixtape, featuring the song “No Black Person Is Ugly.”

On August 17, 2017, Lil B released “Black Ken”, describing it as his “first official mixtape.” The mixtape reached number 24 on the Top Heatseekers chart and number 44 on the Independent Albums chart.

Lil B
Lil B Photo

Lil B Music / Albums

Rain In England (2010)

  • “Birth to Life
  • “Everything”
  • “Just Dream”
  • “Love Is Strange”
  • “My Windowsill”
  • “All Women”
  • “Earth’s Medicine”
  • “I Am the Hellraiser”
  • “My Business”
  • “Hate Is Fear”
  • “Letter to Family”
  • “All My Life
  • “Death”
  • “God Kissed Me”

Angels Exodus (2011)

  • “Exhibit 6”
  • “Life’s Zombies”
  • “All My Life (Remix)”
  • “Bay Area Music”
  • “Motivation”
  • “Cold War, Pt. 2”
  • “Vampires”
  • “More Silence More Coffins”
  • “Connect The Dots”
  • “1 Time”
  • “The Growth”
  • “Frankie Silver”

I’m Gay (I’m Happy) (2011)

  • “Trapped in Prison”
  • “Open Thunder Eternal Slumber”
  • “Game”
  • “Unchain Me”
  • “Neva Stop Me”
  • “Gon Be Okay”
  • “The Wilderness”
  • “I Hate Myself”
  • “Get It While It’s Good”
  • “I Seen That Light”
  • “My Last Chance”
  • “1 Time Remix”

Choices and Flowers (2012)

  • “I Made the Right Choice”
  • “Lessons from the Wind”
  • “Walking Through Berkeley”
  • “My Mistakes”
  • “New York I’m Home”
  • “Where Are You Going”
  • “Lost in the Sky of Love”
  • “Save the Animals”
  • “Happy to Live”
  • “What Came First Are We Alive”
  • “Tokyo”
  • “Tribute to Lil B”
  • “At the Zoo With Mom”
  • “Dreams Are Real”
  • “Exhale With Love in Your Chest”
  • “Wooden Hotel”
  • “Welcome to America”

Hoop Life (2014)

  • “Pass The Ball”
  • “At The Freethrow”
  • “NBATV Commercial”
  • “Off Da Bench”
  • “Material Mindstate”
  • “Pass The Roc” – Produced by NAPSZ NAPOLITANO
  • “Call Me Coach”
  • “Hoop Life”
  • “Foul Out”
  • “Peyton On Broncos, Jordan On Wizards” – Produced by JAMs
  • “Hall Of Fame”
  • “Marble Floors And Pain”
  • “Lockdown”
  • “You’re Going To The League”
  • “Good Day”
  • “Don’t Go Outside”
  • “Living My Life”
  • “Ski Ski BasedGod” – Produced by Slavery & Eskay
  • “Pretty Boy Anthem”
  • “Only Time I Slow Down”
  • “NBA Live”
  • “Scouts Report”
  • “Gotta Make The NBA”
  • “Real Based”
  • “Fuck KD (Kevin Durant Diss)”
  • “NBA Stole My Swag” – Produced by 138th
  • “I Got Bitches 2014”
  • “Katy Perry”
  • “See Me In The Game”
  • “Mack Maine” – Produced by 4by4
  • “Who I Want”
  • “I Choose Her”
  • “Clink Clink (Clean Version)”

Black Ken (2017)

  • “Produced by the BasedGod Intro”
  • “Still Run It”
  • “Bad MF”
  • “Wasup JoJo”
  • “Hip Hop” –
  • “DJ BasedGod”
  • “Berkeley
  • “Free Life”
  • “Pretty Boy Skit”
  • “Young Niggaz”
  • “Getting Hot”
  • “Go Stupid Go Dumb”
  • “Global” (feat. iLoveMakonnen)
  • “Ride (Hold Up)”
  • “Mexico Skit”
  • “Zam Bose (In San Jose)”
  • “Go Senorita Go”
  • “Turn Up (Till You Can’t)”
  • “Ain’t Me”
  • “Raw”
  • “West Coast”
  • “The Real is Back”
  • “Rawest Rapper Alive”
  • “Da Backstreetz”
  • “Rare Art”
  • “Show Promoter Skit”
  • “Live from the Island – Hawaii”

Lil B Quotes

  • “Ladies, if you saw me jackin off in a Ferrari would you be jealous?” ~ Lil B
  • “I support the world and love everybody. It’s about spreading love and breaking down barriers, not building up hate.” ~ Lil B
  • “Less opinion, more perspective.” ~ Lil B
  • “When I was younger, I didn’t even know how to walk. I was so self-conscious.” ~ Lil B
  • “Let’s stop fracking. Who knows about hydraulic fracking? I’m like, whodie, get that oil out the ocean!” ~ Lil B

Lil B Controversies

I’m Gay:

His fifth album, I’m Gay, received several death threats. He cleared this up by telling that it meant that he’s happy, but was also a message of support to the LGBT community.

Joe Budden:

Budden spoke mockingly about Lil B’s “Based” movement and his tweets, to which Lil B responded, initially friendly but eventually with insults. Lil B went on to release a diss track called “T-Shirts & Buddens”. He later apologized and referred to Budden as a Legend.

The Game:

In 2011, Compton rapper Game referred to Lil B as the “wackest rapper of all time.” Lil B reacted by regarding him as irrelevant, which caused the Game to threaten to knock him out. The two began a dis battle but some weeks later the two settled their differences through Twitter after which Lil B urged fans to purchase Game’s The R.E.D. Album.

Joey Bada$$:

Lil B took offense to the lyrics in the song “Survival Tactics” by the late Joey Bada$$. Lil B responded with a song titled “I’m The Bada$$”.  Joey then responded with a song titled “Don’t Quit Your Day Job!”. Later, in an interview with VladTV, Joey admitted the feud was created for publicity and admitted he’s a fan of Lil B’s more serious work.

Kevin Durant:

In 2011, NBA superstar Kevin Durant tweeted his confusion with Lil B’s popularity, and Lil B responded by “cursing” Durant that he would never win the NBA championship. The feud between the two got worse since then, resulting in Lil B releasing the diss track “Fuck KD” in 2014 and also on a commercial on NBA TV, Lil B calls out Kevin Durant. On July 4, 2016, Lil B rescinded the curse following the announcement of Durant leaving the Thunder for the Golden State Warriors.

James Harden:

During the Western Conference Finals of the 2015 NBA Playoffs, Lil B began questioning NBA superstar James Harden’s “cooking dance.” The dance was allegedly coined by Lil B and he tweeted that if he doesn’t receive an answer from Harden regarding that dance then Harden will receive the “Based God curse” like Durant. On June 4, 2017, Lil B announced on a live taping of First Take that he has lifted the curse from Harden.

Lil B Curse

Lil B Twitter

Lil B Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *