Better For You


Young Money Entertainment, About YM, History, Artists, Producers, Hits

About Young Money Entertainment

Young Money Entertainment is an American record label founded by rapper Lil Wayne. Young Money’s president is Lil Wayne’s lifelong friend Mack Maine. The label was an imprint of Cash Money Records and is distributed by Republic Records.

The label has released twelve US albums that reached number one on the Billboard 200 chart: Tha Carter III, I Am Not a Human Being, and Tha Carter IV by Lil Wayne, Thank Me Later, Take Care, Nothing Was the Same, If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late, What a Time to Be Alive (along with Epic Records artist Future), Views and More Life by Drake, and Pink Friday and Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded by Nicki Minaj.

Current artists include Lil Wayne, Drake, Nicki Minaj, Mack Maine, Lil Twist, and Cory Gunz, among others. The label has released three compilation albums—We Are Young Money (2009), Rich Gang (2013; with Cash Money Records), and Young Money: Rise of an Empire (2014).

Young Money Entertainment History

The label was formed in 2005. In 2007, In an interview with Vibe magazine, Lil Wayne detailed he stepped down as President of the label and had given the position to Cortez Bryant. As of 2009, Mack Maine is serving as President. Canadian rapper Drake signed a joint venture between Cash Money Records and Young Money.

Young Money Entertainment
Young Money Entertainment

President Mack Maine confirmed that Omarion was no longer on the label after many rumors were circulating the internet.

To promote the label’s first collaboration album, We Are Young Money, Young Money artists embarked on the Young Money Tour. The collaborative album was released on December 21, 2009, and debuted at number nine on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 142,000 copies in its first-week sales.

The album was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) for selling over shipments of 500,000 copies in the United States.

We Are Young Money featured the highly successful single “BedRock”, which debuted at thirty-six on the Billboard Hot 100 on the week ending December 12, 2009.

On the week ending March 13, 2010, the song reached a peak of two, making it the most successful single by the group on the chart. “BedRock” debuted in the UK Singles Chart on 6 February 2010 at forty. On March 6, 2010, the single climbed to twenty-two, and the subsequent week the single climbed to eighteen, marking Young Money’s first Top 20 hit in the UK.

Peaking at number nine on April 3, 2010, making it Young Money’s first Top 10 hit in the UK.

The label had three of the top 10 highest 2010 hip hop album sales with Drake’s Thank Me Later, and Lil Wayne’s Rebirth, and I Am Not a Human Being.

On March 6, 2010, Lil Wayne confirmed that rapper Cory Gunz was the latest artist to sign. In 2011, Konvict Muzik artist T-Pain recently signed to the Young Money roster after he and Akon agreed to part ways after his last Konvict release RevolveR.

Later that year, T-Pain revealed that he was close to signing a deal with Young Money, but it never concluded. In November 2011, Lil Wayne introduced 14-year-old singer Torion Sellers to Young Money.

On February 15, 2013, Mack Maine announced group We the Future and Lil Wayne’s 14-year-old daughter Reginae Carter had signed to Young Money. In the same year, Young Money released Lil Wayne’s I Am Not a Human Being II, Tyga’s Hotel California, and Drake’s Nothing Was the Same on March 26, April 7, and September 24, respectively.

December 2012 Mack Maine announced a second Young Money album would be released.

In February 2013, label co-owner Birdman released a compilation mixtape with Cash Money and Young Money titled Rich Gang: All-Stars. Shortly after, Birdman announced a compilation album Rich Gang and its schedule for release to be on May 21, 2013.

He added Rich Gang would feature members of Cash Money, Young Money, and various Young Money collaborators. The first single from the project, “Tapout”, was released on March 12, 2013, and featured Lil Wayne, Future, Mack Maine, and Nicki Minaj and produced by 808 Mafia’s Southside and TM88. The album would then be pushed back to July 23, 2013.

On January 22, 2014, it was revealed that Young Money would be releasing their own compilation album on March 11, 2014, titled Young Money: Rise of an Empire. That same day, the first single “We Alright” featuring Lil Wayne, Birdman, and Euro was released. Drake’s Nothing Was the Same leftover “Trophies” would also be included on the album.

The album’s second single, “Senile”, was released on February 14, 2014. It is by Tyga, Nicki Minaj, and Lil Wayne and was produced by David D.A. Doman. “Trophies” and Minaj’s “Lookin Ass” were met with more chart success than the first two singles.

After years of tensions with Birdman and Universal Music Group over unpaid advances and rights to his catalog, Lil Wayne filed a lawsuit in 2015 initially for $51 million.

In 2018, Lil Wayne and Universal settled, which details Lil Wayne would receive $10 million that failed to be paid to him, and Young Money’s ownership would be transferred from Cash Money to Universal directly. Additionally, Birdman’s 49 percent ownership in Young Money would be transferred to Wayne, which took effect on September 13, 2018.

Young Money Entertainment Notable Artist

Current acts

  • Christina Milian
  • Cory Gunz
  • Drake
  • Euro
  • Flow
  • Gudda Gudda
  • Hoodybaby
  • Jay Jones
  • Lil Twist
  • Lil Wayne
  • Mack Maine
  • Nicki Minaj
  • Reginae Carter
  • Shanell
  • Stephanie Acevedo
  • T-Streets

Former acts

  • Austin Mahone
  • Baby E.
  • Boo
  • Chanel West Coast
  • Currensy
  • DJ Khaled
  • Glasses Malone
  • Jae Millz
  • Kidd Kidd
  • Lil Chuckee
  • Omarion
  • PJ Morton
  • Short Dawg
  • Tyga
  • Torion

In-house producers

  • Detail
  • The Olympicks

Young Money Entertainment Discography

Compilation Album

Title                                           Album details
We Are Young Money               Released: December 21, 2009[37]
Label: Young Money, Cash Money, Republic
Formats: CD, digital download

Rich Gang                                    Released: July 23, 2013
(with Cash Money Records)    Label: Young Money, Cash Money, Republic
Formats: CD, digital download

Rise of an Empire                      Released: March 11, 2014
Label: Young Money, Cash Money, Republic
Formats: CD, digital download


Young Money: The Mixtape Vol. 1         Released: 2005
Label: Young Money, Cash Money
Format: CD, Digital download


  • 2009 “Every Girl”
    (featuring Lloyd)
  • 2010 “Roger That”
  • 2013 “Tapout”
    (featuring Future)
  • 2014 “We Alright”
    “Lookin Ass”

Other Charted Songs

  • 2009 “Pass the Dutch”
    (featuring Short Dawg)
    “Steady Mobbin'”
    (featuring Gucci Mane)
  • 2014 “Senile”

Young Money Entertainment Youtube

Young Money Entertainment Facebook

Young Money Entertainment Twitter

Young Money Entertainment Instagram


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *